Skip to main content

We move forward in time, just into the 20th century with a piece by the Hungarian composer Ernő Dohnányi. A subtle, bewitching piece of music and two paintings on the theme of beauty.

Ernő Dohnányi, 'Serenade for String Trio' Op.10, 1902

This is a YouTube video player. Below the video are the title, view time and description. Below that is a carousel of video thumbnails. Clicking a thumbnail will load and play that video.


The paintings

London Philharmonic Orchestra musicians

Violin: Pieter Schoeman, Leader

Viola: Richard Waters, Co-principal

Cello: Pei-Jee Ng, Co-principal

Pieter Schoeman's chair in the LPO is supported by Neil Westreich

Hear the music, see the paintings