Skip to main content

The Sainsbury brothers

In April 1985 the three Sainsbury brothers – John, Simon and Timothy – announced their offer to fund a major extension for the exclusive use of the National Gallery.

The Sainsbury brothers' donation resulted in the construction of the building named in their honour, the Sainsbury Wing , which was officially opened by Queen Elizabeth II on 9 July 1991.

Their philanthropy towards the arts is extensive and includes the bequest of 18 paintings to the nation by the Hon. Simon Sainsbury (1930–2006), including five works to the National Gallery by Edgar Degas, Paul Gauguin, Claude Monet and Henri Rousseau.