Skip to main content

The Sixteenth Century Italian Paintings, Volume 4: Raphael
National Gallery Catalogues

Carol Plazzotta and Tom Henry

London, 2022


The National Gallery holds one of the most significant groups of paintings by Raphael (1483–1520) in the world. The first work by the artist to enter the collection, his portrait of Pope Julius II, was acquired with the Angerstein collection at the time of the Gallery’s foundation in 1824. Since that date, a wealth of new information has been amassed about the artist and the ten paintings by him in the Gallery. In 2022, the year of the Credit Suisse Exhibition: Raphael, the National Gallery is undertaking the digital publication of scholarly catalogue entries for its holdings of works by this great Renaissance artist.

Online extracts from this catalogue