Board of Trustees

At any one time the Gallery has not less than 12 and not more than 14 Trustees. One is appointed by Tate from its own Board. The others are appointed by the Prime Minister, after an open process of selection, which is conducted in accordance with the Code of the Office of the Commissioner of Public Appointments.

Currently, appointments are generally made for a term of four years, and may be renewed once for a further term of the same length.

Current Trustees

Hannah Rothschild (Chair)
Writer, filmmaker, and a company director. A former employee of the BBC specialising in documentary feature films, she has also written screenplays for Ridley Scott and Working Title. She is a freelance journalist and author of the biography 'The Baroness' and a novel, 'The Improbability of Love', the founder of the Artist on Film Trust, and a trustee of Waddesdon Manor and several charitable foundations. She is a non-executive board member of RIT Capital Partners and Windmill Hill Asset Management.

  • Appointed 10 March 2009
  • Appointed as Chair 11 August 2015

Lance Batchelor
Group Chief Executive Officer of Saga, the travel, insurance and healthcare group for the over 50’s. Previously he served as the Chief Executive Officer of Domino’s Pizza Group Plc and before that held a number of senior marketing positions at Vodafone, and Tesco. Between 1982 and 1990 he served with the Royal Navy.

  • Appointed 10 January 2011

Gautam Dalal
A Chartered accountant, he was a Senior Audit Partner with KPMG’s London office until March 2010. From 2000 to 2003 he was Chairman and Chief Executive of the firm’s practice in India which he had helped to establish. He is a non-executive director of Barts Health NHS trust, a Governing body member and Honorary Treasurer (designate) of SOAS, a non-executive director of ZincOx Resources Plc and Chair of AMREF UK.

  • Appointed 25 March 2009

Professor Dexter Dalwood
British artist, he has been building a strong reputation over the last decade in the UK, Europe and the United States. He studied at St Martins and the RCA and had a mid-career retrospective at Tate St Ives in 2010 for which he was nominated for the Turner prize. He is Professor of Fine Art and Design at Bath Spa University. As of 19 January 2017, Dexter is the National Gallery's Tate Liaison Trustee. 

  • Appointed 10 February 2011

Katrin Henkel
Dealt in Old Master drawings for 30 years and was a partner at Colnaghi until the Gallery was sold in 2015. She is a Trustee of Sir John Soane’s Museum and has been on the Board of The Royal Drawing School since 2007. She sits on the Visiting Committee of the Department of Drawings and Prints at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. In the past, she has been a Trustee of IntoUniversity, served on the Executive Committee of the Society of London Art Dealers, and was previously a member of the board of The Fine Art Fund.

  • Appointed 29 March 2016

Professor Anya Hurlbert
Professor of Visual Neuroscience at Newcastle University, and co-founder and Director of the University’s Institute of Neuroscience. Her research focuses on human visual perception, and has included the study of the interplay between visual neuroscience and art.

  • Appointed 8 March 2010

Lord King of Lothbury,KG,GBE,FBA
Served as Governor of the Bank of England and Chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee and Financial Policy Committee from 2003-2013, having served in other capacities with the Bank since 1991. Previously an academic, he was Professor of Economics at the LSE from October 1984. Since stepping down from his office at the Bank, he has taken up the position of Professor of Economics and Law at New York University. He was made a life peer in 2013 and appointed Knight of the Garter in 2014. He is a fellow of the British Academy. He previously served as Trustee of the National Gallery between 2005 and 2009.

  • Appointed 22 September 2014

Rosemary Leith
Fellow at the Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard University and a Founding Director of the World Wide Web Foundation. She is a member of the Raspberry Pi Foundation (governing body for the trading company Raspberry Pi), Non-Executive Director of YouGov plc, past Chair of the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on the Future of Internet Security and a member of a number of advisory boards both in technology and academia, including Infinite Analytics, Wolfson College, Oxford and Queen's University School of Business, Canada. Previously Trustee of the Almeida Theatre (2002–10) she has a background in finance, principal investment and start-up creation and sale in Europe, the UK, Canada and the USA.

  • Appointed 29 March 2016

John Nelson
A chartered accountant by background, he took up the position of Chairman of the Council of Lloyds in October 2011. He is also Chairman of property company Hammerson Plc and advisor to Charterhouse Capital Partners LLP. Prior to joining the Board of the National Gallery, he served for 10 years on the Development committee, which he now chairs.

  • Appointed 11 October 2010

Lisa Milroy
Anglo-Canadian artist, she studied at Université de Paris-Sorbonne, St Martin's School, and Goldsmiths College, University of London. Her exhibition 'Handles' (Walker Art Gallery, 1988) won her the John Moores Painting Prize in 1989 and her work is held in many public and private collections. She was elected to the Royal Academy of Arts in 2005 and is currently Head of Graduate Painting at the Slade School of Fine Art, UCL as well as an advisor at the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Amsterdam. She is a Trustee of Tate.

  • Appointed 1 August 2015

Charles Sebag-Montefiore
A chartered accountant by background, he has been a Director of Ludgate Investments Limited since 2004. He is Honorary Treasurer of the Friends of the National Libraries and The Walpole Society, amongst other charities. He was formerly a Trustee of the Samuel Courtauld Trust (1992-2007) and of the Art Fund (2000-11). He is joint author of 'The British as Art Collectors: From the Tudors to the Present' (2012) and author of 'A Dynasty of Dealers: John Smith and Successors 1801-1924' (2013).

  • Appointed 25th June 2012

John Singer
A former partner and European Chairman of Advent International, a global private equity firm, where he worked between 1993 and 2013. Previously he had consulting and board roles at McKinsey & Co Inc and Central Sheerwood Plc amongst others. He is Chairman of the City of London Sinfonia and chairs the Advisory Board of the New College of Humanities. He teaches at INSEAD and is an Honorary Fellow of Trinity College Oxford.

  • Appointed 25th June 2012