Skip to main content



The term Apocrypha accurately refers to the 14 Old Testament books included in the Vulgate (the Catholic Latin edition of the Bible prepared by Saint Jerome), but which are excluded from the Hebrew canon and which appear as an appendix in the Protestant Bible. Among them are the books of Tobit, Judith, Baruch and Maccabees.

The term is also used to describe the subsidiary New Testament literature which describes events from the lives of Christ, the Virgin and the Apostles, but which does not have canonic status and is therefore not to be found in the Bible.