Guided tours of Longford Castle

This event was held from 1 September 2016 to 16 September 2016

Date and time

Selected dates 25 August – 16 September 2016

1.30–5.30pm

Longford Castle, near Salisbury, Wiltshire

Admission charge

Tickets

£14 (no concessions).

Tickets must be booked in advance. Price includes a complimentary guide book.

Name and address details of each visitor must be supplied.

Special terms and conditions apply

A rare opportunity to visit this beautiful castle and its world-class art collection on one of the few days it's open to the public

Situated near Salisbury in Wiltshire, with the River Avon running through its grounds and home to the Earls of Radnor for generations, Longford Castle is one of the most magnificent of all English country houses.

The Longford Castle collection is one of the finest in the country, featuring paintings by Van Dyck, Claude, Teniers, Hals, Reynolds, and Gainsborough, as well as oriental porcelain, Brussels tapestries, and exceptional 18th-century English and continental furniture. In fact, several masterpieces on display at the National Gallery, such as Holbein’s Ambassadors, were once part of the Longford Castle collection.

Longford Castle is open to the public 28 days a year, with tickets sold exclusively through the National Gallery (on behalf of the Estate).

Please ensure you have read the ticket and visitor information before booking tickets. 

Book tickets

Thursday 25 August FULLY BOOKED
Friday 26 August FULLY BOOKED 
Saturday 27 August FULLY BOOKED
Sunday 28 August FULLY BOOKED
Monday 29 August FULLY BOOKED
Tuesday 30 August FULLY BOOKED
Wednesday 31 August FULLY BOOKED

Thursday 1 September FULLY BOOKED
Friday 9 September FULLY BOOKED
Saturday 10 September FULLY BOOKED
Monday 12 September FULLY BOOKED
Tuesday 13 September FULLY BOOKED
Wednesday 14 September FULLY BOOKED
Thursday 15 September FULLY BOOKED
Friday 16 September FULLY BOOKED

Other ways to book

It is easiest to book online, but it is also possible to book: 

  • In person: A booking form can be downloaded here or collected from the Information Desks at the National Gallery. Please bring your completed form, along with a cheque payment or completed credit card details, and hand in at an Information Desk. 
  • By post: A booking form can be downloaded here or send an SAE to: Guided Tours of Longford Castle, The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5DN.

Please note that bookings in person or by post must be made at least two weeks before your proposed visit date.