Skip to main content

Sketch on the Square

A month of free outdoor art activities to inspire you to have a go at creating your own masterpiece
Date
Various dates
  • Tuesday, 3 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Friday, 6 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Saturday, 7 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Thursday, 12 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Friday, 13 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Saturday, 14 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday, 16 August 2021
  • Tuesday, 17 August 2021
  • Friday, 20 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Saturday, 21 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday, 23 August 2021
  • Thursday, 26 August 2021
  • Friday, 27 August 2021
  • Saturday, 28 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday, 30 August 2021
  • Tuesday, 31 August 2021
Time
11 am - 1 pm

About

Sketch on the Square is a programme of free, daily outdoor art activities to inspire you to have a go at creating your own masterpiece. 

Throughout August, there'll be 30 easels in Trafalgar Square, ready and waiting for you to paint, draw or sketch whatever sparks your imagination, or to join one of our live artist and educator-led sessions. 

All sessions will be free and open to all ages and abilities. Whether you want to learn tips and techniques, gain introductions to art history, or make art as a family, there'll be something for everyone. 

Try your hand at life-drawing with 2B or not 2B collective, capture the London skyline with the London Drawing Group or drop into one our Family Studio sessions led by artists Oliva TwistEmily Hopkins, and Amy Leung

Full programme

Sessions listed above require booking in advance, but more are available on a first-come, first-served basis. 

Important

Please note, these sessions do not include entry to the Gallery building. If you would like to enter the building to visit the collection, shops or toilet facilities, you will need to book a Gallery entry ticket

You can book a free Gallery entry ticket online or by scanning a QR code outside of the Gallery entrance, or in person at our ticket desk.

In the event of adverse weather, we may not be able to run our advertised sessions, so please check this page on the day, before travelling, to see if all sessions are taking place that day. 

Supported by

Creative sessions

Sketch on the Square

A month of free outdoor art activities to inspire you to have a go at creating your own masterpiece
Date
Various dates
  • Tuesday, 3 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Friday, 6 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Saturday, 7 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Thursday, 12 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Friday, 13 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Saturday, 14 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday, 16 August 2021
  • Tuesday, 17 August 2021
  • Friday, 20 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Saturday, 21 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday, 23 August 2021
  • Thursday, 26 August 2021
  • Friday, 27 August 2021
  • Saturday, 28 August 2021 - FULLY BOOKED
  • Monday, 30 August 2021
  • Tuesday, 31 August 2021
Time
11 am - 1 pm

Tickets (free)

Sessions listed on this page require booking in advance. Please book a free ticket.

Closeclose
Sketch on the Square
Tickets (free)
Select session