Lunchtime talks

Focus in on one painting or explore wider themes in the collection, at our free lunchtime talks

Every month we have a range of lunchtime talks for you to enjoy at the Gallery. All talks are free and available on a first come, first served basis.

August 2017

Detail from Jan Gossaert, The Adoration of the Kings, 1510-15
Lunchtime talk

Monday 21 August, 1–1.30pm

Room 14
Hieronymus Bosch: 'Christ Mocked (The Crowning with Thorns)'
Lunchtime talk

Wednesday 23 August, 1–1.30pm

Room 5
Follower of Quinten Massys: 'Saint Luke painting the Virgin and Child'
Lunchtime talk

Wednesday 30 August, 1–1.30pm

Room 5

September 2017

Boris Anrep, Anrep Mosaic - Wonder (detail), 2007 © Boris Anrep Family Estate, UK
Lunchtime talk

Monday 4 September, 1–1.45pm

Sainsbury Wing Theatre
Gerolamo dai Libri, The Virgin and Child with Saint Anne (detail), 1510–18 © The National Gallery, London
Lunchtime talk

Wednesday 6 September, 1–1.30pm

Room 61
Anthony van Dyck, William Feilding, 1st Earl of Denbigh, about 1633-4
Lunchtime talk

Monday 11 September, 1–1.45pm

Sainsbury Wing Theatre
Detail of 'The Wilton Diptych'
Discussion

Tuesday 12 September, 12.45–1.45pm

Sainsbury Wing Conference Room 2
Detail from Rubens: 'Minerva protects Pax from Mars ('Peace and War')', 1629-30
Lunchtime talk

Wednesday 13 September, 1–1.30pm

Room 18
Francesco  Botticini, The Assumption of the Virgin (detail), probably about 1475–6 © The National Gallery, London
Lunchtime talk

Monday 18 September, 1–1.45pm

Sainsbury Wing Theatre
Holbein, The Ambassadors, 1533
Lunchtime talk
500th anniversary of the Reformation

Wednesday 20 September, 1–1.30pm

Room 4
Viewing page 1 (4)
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4