CloseZoom In
Zoom Out
Giovanni Battista Tiepolo: 'Four Saints'

Explore the paintings

Centre, Saint Augustine, Doctor of the Church, holds his symbol, a flaming heart; left, (Saint) Louis IX (1215 - 1270), King of France. On the right, Saint John the Evangelist, is identified by his attribute of an eagle, symbol of inspiration.

This is a preliminary modello for an altarpiece (now destroyed) of 1737-38 executed for S. Salvatore, Venice.

Further information