Board of Trustees

  • Share this page

At any one time the Gallery has not less than 12 and not more than 14 Trustees. One is appointed by Tate from its own Board. The others are appointed by the Prime Minister, after an open process of selection, which is conducted in accordance with the Code of the Office of the Commissioner of Public Appointments.

Currently, appointments are generally made for a term of four years, and may be renewed once for a further term of the same length.

Current Trustees

Hannah Rothschild (Chair)
A freelance television and film director, writer, journalist, lecturer and broadcaster specialising in the arts. Co-founder of the Artist on Film trust she is Vice President of the Hay Literary Festival and has acted in the past as a trustee of the ICA, Serpentine and Whitechapel Galleries and judge of the Samuel Johnson Prize for non-fiction. Her biography of Pannonica (Nica) Rothschild entitled 'The Baroness' was published by Virago in 2012.

  • Appointed 10 March 2009
  • Appointed as Chair 11 August 2015

Lance Batchelor
He is the Group Chief Executive Officer of Saga, the travel, insurance and healthcare group for the over 50’s. Previously he served as the Chief Executive Officer of Domino’s Pizza Group Plc and before that held a number of senior marketing positions at Vodafone, and Tesco. Between 1982 and 1990 he served with the Royal Navy.

  • Appointed 10 January 2011

Gautam Dalal
A Chartered accountant, he was a Senior Audit Partner with KPMG’s London office until March 2010. From 2000 to 2003 he was Chairman and Chief Executive of the firm’s practice in India which he had helped to establish. He is a non-executive director of Barts Health NHS trust, a Governing body member and Honorary Treasurer (designate) of SOAS, a non-executive director of ZincOx Resources Plc and Chair of AMREF UK.

  • Appointed 25 March 2009

Professor Dexter Dalwood
British artist Dexter Dalwood has been building a strong reputation over the last decade in the UK, Europe and the States. He studied at St Martins and the RCA and had a mid-career retrospective at Tate St Ives in 2010 for which he was nominated for the Turner prize. He is Professor of Fine Art and Design at Bath Spa University.

  • Appointed 10 February 2011

Lady Heseltine
Previously a Trustee of both the Victoria and Albert Museum (1997-2002), where she also chaired the Development Committee, and the Imperial War Museum (1991-1998). She was on the Board of Visitors for the Ashmolean Museum (1988-2007). In 1999 she received the Distinguished Friend of Oxford Award from the University of Oxford in recognition of her fundraising; she is also a Fellow of the Museum. She is an adviser to the Oxford Philomusica and a Trustee of the Burlington Magazine.

  • Appointed 6 March 2008

Sir Michael Hintze
Founded the London-based hedge fund CQS in 1999, having previously worked with Credit Suisse First Boston, Goldman Sachs and Salomon Brothers. He has significant and wide-ranging philanthropic interests, establishing the Hintze Family Charitable Foundation with his wife Dorothy in 2005. The Foundation has helped to finance two galleries at the Victoria and Albert Museum, established the chair of International Security at the University of Sydney and has provided vital funding to the Old Vic Theatre in London. He is a Trustee of the Institute of Economic Affairs, the Prince of Wales’s Foundation for Building Community and of the Wadsworth Museum which he helped save.

  • Appointed 1 April 2008

Professor Anya Hurlbert
Professor of Visual Neuroscience at Newcastle University, and co-founder and Director of the University’s Institute of Neuroscience. Her research focuses on human visual perception, and has included the study of the interplay between visual neuroscience and art.

  • Appointed 8 March 2010

Lord King of Lothbury,KG,GBE,FBA
Served as Governor of the Bank of England and Chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee and Financial Policy Committee from 2003-2013, having served in other capacities with the Bank since 1991. Previously an academic, he was Professor of Economics at the LSE from October 1984. Since stepping down from his office at the Bank, he has taken up the position of Professor of Economics and Law at New York University. He was made a life peer in 2013 and appointed Knight of the Garter in 2014. He is a fellow of the British Academy. He previously served as Trustee of the National Gallery between 2005 and 2009.

  • Appointed 22 September 2014

John Nelson
A chartered accountant by background, he took up the position of Chairman of the Council of Lloyds in October 2011. He is also Chairman of property company Hammerson Plc and advisor to Charterhouse Capital Partners LLP. Prior to joining the Board of the National Gallery, he served for 10 years on the Development committee, which he now chairs.

  • Appointed 11 October 2010

Lisa Milroy
Anglo-Canadian artist, Lisa Milroy, studied at Université de Paris-Sorbonne, St Martin's School, and Goldsmiths College, University of London. Her exhibition 'Handles' (Walker Art Gallery, 1988) won her the John Moores Painting Prize in 1989 and her work is held in many public and private collections. She was elected to the Royal Academy of Arts in 2005 and is currently Head of Graduate Painting at the Slade School of Fine Art, UCL as well as an advisor at the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Amsterdam. She is a Trustee of Tate.

  • Appointed 1 August 2015

Charles Sebag-Montefiore
A chartered accountant by background, he has been a Director of Ludgate Investments Limited since 2004. He is Honorary Treasurer of the Friends of the National Libraries and The Walpole Society, amongst other charities. He was formerly a Trustee of the Samuel Courtauld Trust (1992-2007) and of the Art Fund (2000-11). He is joint author of 'The British as Art Collectors: From the Tudors to the Present' (2012) and author of 'A Dynasty of Dealers: John Smith and Successors 1801-1924' (2013).

  • Appointed 25th June 2012

John Singer
A former partner and European Chairman of Advent International, a global private equity firm, where he worked between 1993 and 2013. Previously he had consulting and board roles at McKinsey & Co Inc and Central Sheerwood Plc amongst others. He is Chairman of the City of London Sinfonia and chairs the Advisory Board of the New College of Humanities. He teaches at INSEAD and is an Honorary Fellow of Trinity College Oxford.

  • Appointed 25th June 2012

Caroline Thomson
Until September 2012 she served as Chief Operating Officer at the BBC, with responsibility for policy, strategy and major infrastructure projects. She is non–Executive Director of Digital UK and until 2011 Chair of Freeview UK.

  • Appointed 11 August 2008